Highlighted
Contributor

I'm livid with the lack of customer service that USAA now provides. I called and spoke with a Senior Customer Service Rep. WHAT A JOKE! I am just a STUDENT living paycheck to paycheck at my PART-TIME job. Yet USAA thinks it is okay to hold $250 on my $350 paycheck for 10 DAYS!!! I've been banking with them for close to 5 years now, and never had an issue until this month. Last paycheck i deposited had $300 dollars held. Because USAA is now screwing people out of their money, i had to pay late fees on my phone bill ($40) and could not put gas in my tank to go to SCHOOL. I'm now in the position that i have to pay for textbooks since its the beginning of the semester, buy supplies, and other necessities. I guess that's not important to them because NO textbook in college costs less than $100 to buy.  The Rep i spoke to said i should "manage my money better so i could keep more in my account." So, lets do the math, shall we?

-

Textbooks:

"According to a study by the U.S. Public Interest Research Group (USPIRG), as of Jan. 27, 2014, the averageAmerican college student spends $1,200 per year on books and supplies, which is equivalent to 39% of tuition and fees at a community college and 14% tuition and fees at a four-year university."

(http://college.usatoday.com/2015/01/17/students-break-the-bank-to-buy-their-books/) There is the link to the article if you don't believe me.

I'm a full time student (13 hours or 4 classes)

4 textbooks at RENTED PRICES= $75-$100, so $300-$400 respectively. Remember, i don't get to keep these, i'm just RENTING!

Already, I can afford ONE textbook!! HOORAY!! 

Gas:

Where I live, gas is $2.06. I know it doesn't seem like much, but that is the LOWEST PRICE 16 gallons x $2.06= $32.96. Once again, doesn't seem like much, until you think of driving to and from school EVERY DAY and to work 5 days a week and back. Starts to add up a bit... huh? I normally have to fill up 1 every week/1.5 weeks.