Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

To anyone who reads this...

Please take a second to really think about having USAA as your banking institution.

I have been looking for part time employment because I am a full time student and needed money to supplement the little income I have from being a Reservist.  I came across this ad for mystery shopper...  Most people know what mystery shopper is and that it is a pretty cool deal, you shop, give feed back and get paid for it... Seems legit right?  Typically it is, however in this case, this specific company was a scam.  They sent me all the information along with a Treasurer's Check for over $2000, and the instructions for my first assignment.  The assignment was to purchase stuff from walmart and send my list of what I puchased along with what I experienced at Walmart.  The second portion of my assignment was to purchase 4 money pak cards with $500 each on them.  So I deposited the check into my USAA account using deposit at mobile and happily went about my duties.  I went to walmart and did my shopping, then I went to CVS to purchase the cards, the clerk told me that I had to use cash and that I could not use my debit/credit card to purchase the moneypak cards.  So I went home, contacted USAA and told them what I was doing....  Exactly what I was doing and explained in detail to the guy that I talked to about mystery shopper and the tasks that they have you do.  He happily increased my ATM withdrawl limit, and told me good luck with my mystery shopper assignments.   I went the next day to CVS and purchsed all four after with drawing the $2000 from my account.  I purchased the cards, sent the info to the mystery shopper and received my next assignment two day later.  This time it was to use a money transfer system and to purchase a few more money pak cards... And I was to evaluate the services I received from the clerks.  I was unable to complete the task that first day and then I started receiving phone calls and emai