Are there resources for support in any form for ex-military spouses? What if they were a victim of domestic violence?

Contributor

Do you know if there are any resource networks for ex-military spouses? I have a unique situation that I haven't been able to find help with and I'm hoping someone will have an idea.

My ex-husband was in the Army, and I left him to move out to go to college in order to escape domestic violence. He retaliated by charging $25,000 on my credit cards, knowing that I didn't have the option to file for bankruptcy since I work in finance and it would destroy job prospects, and because he was my spouse I wouldn't be able to file for identity theft. I couldn't afford a lawyer, and since I was only 18 at the time and he was considerably older, I was hardly making the minimum payment in income for a month's work.

He promised to pay the bill when we split, since he incurred it, but after only a month stopped. He transferred between different bases, and took advantage of the moves by intentionally withholding his contact information (phone number, etc) so that I couldn't find him, wouldn't be able to ask for help paying the bills, and also to prevent me from divorcing him since he wanted the extra income and housing benefits of being married.

When I eventually found his CFO, we talked and the man assured me that he'd make sure my husband would be making the minimum payments as we had agreed upon over email. That never happened, and talking to his CFO was the last I ever heard from him. I was only able to even get divorced because he finally decided he wanted to marry another military member, so he sent me an email insisting I expedite the signing when I received the divorce papers so he could quickly remarry.