Highlighted
Contributor

I am a poor, aging, veteran of the Marine Corps. I lost my wife to lymphoma. I lost my home and good credit fighting to save her. I have no material true possessions in my life save for an old 1997 S-10. I was lured to USAA by claims that I was a veteran company, an organization that prided itself on its focus on those of us who served. I find now that the policies of USAA are going to destroy me and take from me what little I have left.

My truck was purchased in 1997 with funds I gained following the death of my Father. In a real sense, I view this old vehicle as my only tangible link to him, it is my birthright. I do not come from wealthy stock, and this gift, this last kind act of a dead man, was something I have always treasured. I carried it from the cradle and intend to keep it to the grave. I have maintained this truck, it always starts, it always runs, it never quits.

In April of this year my old truck was damaged. Some careless operator of a trailer backed his vehicle into the front of my vehicle while it was legally parked and i slept at a motel. . This reckless trailer operator damaged the front of the hood, as well as the grill. The truck was still operable, and it rode fine, but it was wounded and needed help. With this thought, I went for the first time in my 50 year life and made a claim on my insurance. I took the truck to a shop, they quoted a price, and now USAA wants total my truck.

If this is the case, why then was I lured into buying a total coverage policy? If the truck runs well, why destroy it? Ahh, but I ask for logic in the face of greed. Hopeless.

Here it is. I will never be able to buy a replacement vehicle of any value if they total my truck and cut me a check for its “worth”. I am out of luck and close to being homeless. This defeat will likely sink me.