Highlighted
Contributor

I just transferred My Auto, Home, and Checking to USAA and am now Applying for a Motorcycle Loan and Insurance through USAA.  I just stumbled onto this memeber community page and it is very negative with a lot of complaints about holds on money, customer services, hours, and negative treatement of the Military.  I am starting to worry that maybe I made a mistake.  I hope not.  I am an Marine Corp Vet and my son is currently in the Marine Corps as a Marine Security Guard at the US Embassy in Mumbai.  I would not take lightly a company that takes advantage of service members.  Can anyone provide some feedback on this page that is positive?  It would be greatly appreciated.

3 REPLIES

Highlighted

I posted about a perfectly satisfactory collision claim experience.

I, too, have read the Member Community posts and there are quite a few negative ones out there.  When I have a bad experience with a company, one of the first things I do is go online and file reviews with Facebook and yelp and other sites (even BBB).  But when I have perfectly fine experience, I move on.  Things occurred or were handled exactly as I expected them to be done, so I don't think to shout my approval with the same fervor that I would complain.

I try to keep that in mind when the gripes, legitimate complaints, or concerns posted online seem overwhelming or make me seriously second-guess USAA.  And I also keep in mind that when I was searching for an insurance company, many articles providing comparisons of "top insurance companies" were for insurance carriers that were open to the entire public.  Those comparison/ranking articles all posted a specific mention of USAA that ranked it the top 1 or top 2nd, but that it was being excluded from their list because of the member eligibility requirement.

Highlighted

Dear jh1s,