On the alert for fraudulent emails asking for your info

Good day community members,


Beginning November I received the following email with several things that makes it as a real email from USAA, such as the logo, and the use of the actual http link. The red flags that I saw were: 


1. The email was sent from a server in Italy, - USAA (usaaonlineweb53@libero.it)


2. The signature does not have a name attached to it.

3. Most important, the situation that a regular email was asking to update personal information; I expect that message, if submitted by USAA to be posted inside your account under your profile or documents, or a regular mail notification with the proper steps and points of contact in case of fraudulent activity is suspected.


Take a look at the body of the email for you to be informed, and for the USAA fraud department staff to take preventive actions if required.




Julian Grajales



Dear valued USAA member:

Due to concerns, for the safety and integrity of the USAA account we have issued this warning message.

It has come to our attention that your USAA account information needs to be updated as part of our continuing commitment to protect your account and to reduce the instance of fraud on our website. If you could please take 5-10 minutes out of your online experience and update your personal records you will not run into any future problems with the online service.

Once you have updated your account records your USAA account service will not be interrupted and will continue as normal.

To update your USAA records click on the following link:

Thank You.




I clicked on the link and got a fraud warning.  Watch out!  USAA -- please do something.