Highlighted

My husband just got his orders for our next location and we will PCS early next year to Italy. While this is a very exciting time for us to explore different countries & cultures, it is also a very scary time. I am a professional wedding and portrait/lifestyle photographer and military wife. I was wondering if it is possible to run my business over in Italy and how to go about it. I am hoping some people can give some tips on what to do. I have searched all over the internet and can't find any info to help me out. I know quite a few military wives who are also in the same profession, but they have never been overseas. I would love if anyone could give me some pointers even about anything else. We have two very young girls and a dog we will be taking with us. I appreciate the help!

2 REPLIES

Highlighted
The Italian law is very restrictive for spouses. There are very few jobs for them and they'll be on base working alongside the Italians also holding a set percentage of those same jobs. This prevents the community from losing revenue and jobs to foreign business/residents. I'm not sure of all the details but if your work would be subjected to Italian tax I would assume that it won't be okay under your resident status. Source: In Italy right now.
Highlighted