Highlighted
Contributor

I’ve used USAA for years, and I’m getting ready to buy my first house.  I thought, since I’m new to the game, I would go through USAA.  They seemed to have many programs available for 1st time home buyers.  I read the mortgage reviews and was initially taken aback with the number of negative experiences that were being shown.

I figured they were outlying situations (after all, you’re more likely to report a negative experience than a positive one) and decided to use USAA for my mortgage.  I’m wishing I hadn’t.  The horror stories you read here are NOT isolated incidents.  The system is confused and clearly disorganized.

Everything started off nicely enough.  I was presented with a To-Do list, they promptly sent out a packet of papers for me to sign, I sent all the required documents back and everything seemed to be going to plan.  Items were being ticked off my list at a steady pace and I thought all was well.  Then, it just fell apart.

New items would appear in my list, asking for documentation I had already sent.  Progress on submitted items grinded to a halt.  When I called to ask why – at two weeks to closing – half of my list still wasn’t completed and I had duplicate items on it, I was told that the items listed on their end were fine.  Why are there two lists that aren’t in-synch with each other?  How am I supposed to keep track of this if my list isn’t accurate?