Highlighted
Contributor

I have been a happy USAA member for probably 20 years, maybe 25, maybe 30.  I raised my kids in the USAA "family".    

Now that I am semi-retired I've been studying German for a couple of years, and I would like to have an immersion experience by taking a class and doing a home exchange, where you trade with another individual or family, ie. they come and stay in your home and you go to theirs.  So last year, as I started to plan my exchange, I called USAA to make sure that an exchange would be covered under my homeowners' policy.

To my distress, I was told that USAA has a rule that treats home exchange exactly as if you were letting out your home via Airbnb, and limits members to two weeks per year.    I tried to explain that the two are very different, as there is no money changing hands in an exchange, and a personal relationship develops between the two exchangers.  But the rep was adamant.  I didn't want to give up my USAA coverage, and I couldn't afford to pay for accommodations abroad, so I deferred the Germany plan.

Realizing that I'm not getting any younger, I thought about home exchange again this year.  I found the perfect exchanger -- a middle-aged German widow who, like me lives alone.  I emailed and Skyped with her, and arranged a 30-day exchange, with us to overlap at my house for the initial two nights so that I could show her how everything works and have her meet my neighbors.  

I thought that USAA would be supportive of this and permit the extra two weeks because it seems actually safer to have a home occupied than empty for the 30 days I'd be away.  But no -- I was told that USAA would not make any representation that if anything happened my home would be covered.

The rep said, "Theft by the person living in your home definitely wouldn't be covered," and I said to her "That's fine -- all I care about is something catastrophic like earthquake or fire." But she still would not give me any security on that front.