Highlighted
Contributor

Being military we move around a lot.  As a part of that, we had a home that would not sell it sat on the market and just would not move.  We finally after years of trying had to let it go Dead in Lu.  We recently got orders to PCS and I had contacted USAA to see if buying a house was possible or not.   They looked at everything and told me that I was pre-approved for x amount of dollars.   I made sure to ask many times about if the Dead in Lu was going to come back and bite us.  They keep telling me that we were good and that everything looked fine.   A guy in my office told me you may want to get a second opinion and see if you can get a lower rate.  At this point, I had been working with USAA on this loan for about two months, paid for a trip to go look at houses and had a real-estate agent that had spent countless hours helping us out.  The other bank took about four days to tell us that the Dead in Lu was too recent and that we would have to wait a few months before we could get approved.  I told them that I had an approval from USAA and why was it different.   They told me it was because USAA understands service members a little better than other institutes.  I got off the phone with them and once again called USAA to check and make sure everything was good and again I was told everything was fine.