Looking for work...

Looking for work...

AndyAA87's avatarAndyAA87New Member

So I got out in 2009, and all I have been able to get when it came to jobs were seasonal or temp jobs. Now I work as a cashier for Wal-Mart and am looking for another job if anyone knows of anyone hiring in the Antioch, CA area.

Re: Looking for work...

Wolvarine's avatarWolvarineVisitor

Big oil boom here around eastern Montana and western North Dakota. Largest oil deposit in the world. They can't find enough people for the work here. Unemployment rate .5-.1.

WDinkins219's avatarWDinkins219New Member

Department of Veterans Affairs has been pushing hard to hire Vets . Check out USAJOBS.gov

Benwah's avatarBenwahNew Member

Biggest problem I encountered was the fact I was a white male w/out, and my disability wasn't approved yet. I was 20 year veteran with combat experience, but wasn't offered anything through that website, nor did I get a call back. I had my resume approved through the career center, worked with full bird colonels, SGMs, etc--each looked at it and said it looked great and I should be guaranteed a call back or interview.

I was highly disappointed.

whcarpent's avatarwhcarpentNew Member

I think a question that is not asked is what is your skill set? Your employment since seperation is actually hurting you and the skills you have. Have you thought of going back to school? Also have you talked to your local VA agencies to see what benefits are available for you (Resume Writing, Career Counseling, Workshops, Interview Assistance, Job Banks, etc.)

RandomTask's avatarRandomTaskFrequent Visitor

I keep getting emails from this head hunter called Lucas Group. Maybe give them a try?

I had a friend use a company in 2011 and he seemed to be getting offers left and right. It still took him a year to finally land something steady though.

gunny141's avatargunny141New Member