cramerLC
Occasional Contributor
My husband and I have been banking with usaa for five years now and we are ready to close our accounts and never look back. Today we had 23 dollars in our account. We went and deposited a check for 240$ and then tried to use our cards to get food nd they were both declined. So we call usaa and they tell us about a new policy that makes no effing sense to me whatsoever. They placed a TWO WEEK HOLD on our check and the firts person I spoke to from usaa said it could be like that for every single thing we deposit. The other person was clueless as to any answers and said we could use our money in two weeks. We have children to feed and need to pay the car payment. We have another check to deposit but we're afraid to because we dont know what the ef is going to happen. Two to three days is annoying but two effing weeks is just insane. Wtf usaa.The second person I spoke to said this only happens if your account goes negative even by a penny and she couldnt tell me why even though our account was positive when we deposited a payroll check it still nad a hold or if this is going to be for every single check forever or just temporary. Friggin frustrated doesnt even come close. I earned this money. How can they do this? And to such loyal customers.

49 REPLIES

This happened to my husband and I as well. If you're account has ever been overdrawn or goes into the negative frequently, then you're considered a "risk" and they put checks on hold for 2 weeks. I would go cash your check elsewhere and then deposit the cash into the account. It's dumb. Their way of controlling the negative balances I guess.