Contributor

My husband and I have struggled for awhile over how to budget our pay. We have moved six times in the past four years (and you know how much PCS's can COST!!), but still. We are adults, we figure, so budgeting should be a piece of cake, right? Wrong. Fortunately for us, we discovered a great financial tool that bailed us out.

14 REPLIES

Highlighted
What did you find?
Highlighted
Budgeting is not always easy. As a matter of fact it can be down right hard. I think the biggest thing I see military families struggle with is what we NEED vs. what we THINK we NEED. I am glad you found a tool that works for your family.
Highlighted
No matter what tool you use, use something. I have been using the envelope system for over 10 years. For years it was a software program called Money Matters by Crown and recently they went online. Now I use Mvelopes. Look it up; it's a great system and can really help you track your expenses as well as save in a particular area.
Highlighted
Mint.com is an amazing website and is completely free.
Highlighted

Have any of you used any of the budgeting tools here on USAA.com to help with budgeting? Were they helpful? I've seen them but I haven't "dug in" yet.

Highlighted

The 'Spending Plan' feature is less a full-fledged budgeting tool and more of a general overview/alerts if you are getting close to your planned maximums. I find myself setting the limits to what I generally spend on the categories (Dining/ ATM / Rent / etc.) and letting it warn me if I my spending spikes about what is normal.