Highlighted
Upset Consumer
Contributor

I'm writing this in hopes someone from the organization sees this. My husband is a border patrol agent affected by the shutdown. He is considered "essential personnel" therefore he is working without pay. Mind you he is also a Navy Chief and has 10 years in the Navy. Here's our dilemma, his direct deposit is with USAA. If we considered going to the numerous other institutions assisting their consumers we can't. Most furlough relief programs mandate the consumer has to have their direct deposit with the financial institution. Since non-essential personnel are on complete furlough status there is no one in the office to process the change request to get his direct deposit to another institution. USAA, you are 'effing us and yourself quite frankly because we can't pay on the numerous products and services we have with you! I'm a Compliance Officer at a financial institution in South Texas and the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System issued a statement along 5 other regulating agencies including the FDIC ENCOURAGING financial institutions to work with consumers affected by the shutdown without examiners criticizing you to do so. It is beyond me as to why USAA isn't stepping up to help. You don't have any excuse when your FEDERAL REGULATOR is encouraging you to help and stating you won't face criticism from your examiners. As if you needed the bad publicity after how you mishandled stop payment requests and reopening closed accounts you do this. Believe me, you will be losing us as customers when the dust settles on this. https://www.federalreserve.gov/newsevents/pressreleases/bcreg20190111a.htm

9 REPLIES

#JoinACreditUnion