EXPLAINED: How Victory Capital Portfolio Managers Screwed Fundholders by Taking "Easy Way Out" Racking up Huge Cap Gains Taxes

Highlighted
Prolific Contributor

To be clear, I've never entrusted USAA or Victory Capital with my investments. I'm an equity portfolio manager with 25 years investment experience and co-managed over $7 billion in assets (including a Morningstar top-rated mutual fund) at a premier  investment management company.

I've noticed several questions about people experiencing huge capital gains and wanted to explain what's going on from an "insider's" perspective. This situation is a classic move by lazy portfolio managers when a fund is merged into another one. It's possible the fund was liquidated first, then transferred over to Victory, which would've made the sale unavoidable.

You're getting huge capital gains taxes because, assuming the funds were mergerd, Victory Capital portfolio managers decided to sell every stock they don't own in their "model portfolio" (regardless of the investment merits of the company shares USAA portfolio managers purchased) and buy every stock in the model portfolio not owned.

They could have "transitioned" the accounts (selectively selling off the stocks they believe are overvalued and replacing them with companies in the model portfolio with the most upside potential), but that takes "too much work." The impact on you is tax inefficiency and higher transaction costs (commissions, bid-ask spread, market impact, taxes) reducing after-tax returns.