Highlighted
Contributor
Hello. I've been with USAA since 2001 when I financed my first car. I recently separated from the military to be a full time student. This is a very hard transition. The people out here make it very hard for veterans. Every plan I had set in place has shattered. Everything they brief you on during your ACAP is not true. I really wish they would stop lying to us and tell us the truth. I knew it was not going to easy but I didn't think it was going to be this hard.

4 REPLIES

Highlighted
MsRage
Sorry things have been difficult for you. As a civilian, I am thankful for your years of service. I choice to return to graduate school later in life and understand school itself can be difficult and trying. What you are going through can only be fully understood by those who have served, but I want you to know civilians care about you though we haven't been in your shoes. I'm in my last years of graduate school for acupuncture and I see many Vets in clinic and we help treat the emotional turmoil they are dealing with.
Don't give up! And consider seeing an acupuncturist to help you deal with what civilian life is throwing your way. Best of luck in your schooling. <3
Highlighted

What did they lie to you about?or What came as a suprise to you?

Highlighted
It really depends on your location. If you're in a red state, you're good to go. Blue state-- start counting the stars at night cause you'll be in the streets very soon. - Cold Truth
Highlighted

I think you said it best in the title of this Hard Transition. It is just that! I said the same thing when I came to this reality way back in 1994. 

You might recall something said in military circles that went a little something like this:

"You have the School Solution and you've got to deal with the Real World." 

Military-to-Civilian career transition is no different. ACAP or TAP gives you the school solution, then we all run out and experience the real world.

For example: