TamaiDB
Contributor

I joined USAA right out of basic in 2011, been with them every since. Only had a few problems. Then . . .

I was in an accident on Fort Bliss(I wasnt at fault). I was rear ended at like 45-50 mph and USAA told me that my car was totaled, I couldnt believe it, but I made my peace with that part.

I had my car for 8 months bought it brand new. 2017 Cruze. It had a little over 6,000 miles on it. I took great care of it. Being a single soldier I dont have much, but I have my car.

They compared cars like mine but with twice as many miles at a certain price. Then took about 2000 dollars off and said  thats what mine is worth. 2,000 is a months worth of pay for me, so its a big deal.  They said the deduction was for options and condition. My car has more options then the comparisons, less miles and is in great condition!

They left off several of the options my car has,  like a back up camera. How can USAA value my car when they dont know what it has and doesnt have?! But the adjuster tells me the corrections wont change the amount really and no matter what I have to accept the amount theyre offering me cause it very rarely changes, no matter what. I asked if I could dispute it or do anything to prove my car had more value, the adjuster told me no! which apparently isnt true he sorta admitted later on. I researched the topic more on my own.