Safelite windshield replacement problems December 2019

Highlighted
Contributor

I am a disabled veteran and have been a USAA member for over 30 years. I am disappointed with the Safelite windshield service. A rock flew up and struck my windshield on the driver side directly in front of my view. Safelite repaired my windshield at their store on 19 December 2019. I was unhappy with the repair (spot repair directly in my field of view), so I called USAA and requested full windshield replacement while I was still at the Safelite shop and USAA transferred me to their Safelite department. They asked me some questions regarding the car having a camera and a rain sensor. They scheduled me for a window replacement on 23 December 2019. The Safelite shop is 15 miles or a 30-minute drive from my home. When I arrived for my 23 December appointment they looked and told me that the incorrect windshield had been ordered, so I would need to make a new appointment. I was rescheduled for 30 December 2019. In the meantime, I wanted to inform USAA and Safelight about that poor service. All my calls to USAA were transferred to Safelite and Safelite was not willing to acknowledge that they could have done a better job. I asked one Safelite representative 3 times for her name on 30 December 2019 at around noon. She finally said that her name was "Terreece" (?sp) and then she transferred me to a nonworking number. Safelite could have saved me a lot of travel trouble (gas) and time (about 2 hours of my time) by ordering the correct windshield in the first place. I was at the Safelite shop when the order was placed, and they could have easily looked at the picture on their computer screen to match up the correct camera window configuration with the car's original windshield. Alternatively, I could have snapped a photo of my windshield for them to look at. So why did they not do that in the first place? They did not want to acknowledge this carelessness. I finally figured out how to call a US