I fell into the refinancing trap!!! Time to lease

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor

Just a note to those who are tempted to refinance...

Every car I've ever bought, three in total, I've only once been in possession of the pink slip. I only kept the slip for few weeks before I again refinance.

My most recent car, a former lease, I purchased in 2003, and it’s been a wonderful car... I've been making payments for over 10 years and it's over 13 years old, and now I'm starting to have the typical problems for a 2000 with over 120,000 miles.

So, if you have a problem with debt, avoid buying - lease instead!!!

If I'm going to be making payments forever, why not have a new car every few years!!!!

BTW, I can't find any info on USAA leasing opportunity... Don't tell me USAA doesn't offer lease financing!

Tricia

Tricia

7 REPLIES

Highlighted

pacangel27;

USAA does NOT have or offer Auto Lease Financing.

When leasing a vehicle it is best to work with the dealership for the make and model of the car you are interested in.

IMPORTANT CAUTION ABOUT LEASING.

While leasing can provide a lower monthly car payment, there is one MAIN PROBLEM everyone should know.

If you trade your lease vehicle in prior to end of lease term the dealership may tack on to new lease (or loan) the amount they were still owed by former lease contract.

THIS MAY HAPPEN TO YOU:

Example: You lease a vehicle for 36 months at a monthly payment of $350.00. On the 25th month (with 12 months remaining on lease) you trade-in your lease vehicle. The dealership adds the $4200.00 (12 times $350.00) they were still owed from the remaining time left on former lease to new contract.

Something similar happened to me, twice (as I traded in one lease vehicle for another prior to end of lease term, and traded a second lease vehicle prior to end of lease term for a new vehicle with "conventional financing").

I hope this helps someone.

Highlighted

Website Guru,