If you are considering USAA for your mortgage, please read this post.

Regular Contributor

Like many of the posters here I regret not having read these boards before moving forward with USAA on my home purchase after 20 years of membership.  What follows is a description of the problems that have yet to be resolved 12 days from closing(July 2nd), and 21 days from starting this process.  But first I want to say that I am a mortgage expert, I have spent 20+ years in finance, and 15 years in the mortgage industry, and know the difference between isolated issues and deep rooted problems.  I see the latter, but draw your own conclusions.  I have higher standards than most when it comes to this area, but not unreasonable by any stretch.

I picked USAA for a few reasons, first off their PMI rate at 10% down is .025%, which is half the industry standard, which to me is like a free loan of sorts. I will spare you the math, but simply put you can keep half that down payment and not get hosed in PMI payments.  Second factor that made me pick USAA was the recast options.  I am selling my current home, expecting to net $50k or more and I can use that to pay down on the pricipal and lower my payment at any time for the lifetime of the loan.  FInally the reputation and past experience with USAA has never failed me.