Shanee87
Contributor
I would just like to take a moment to tell you about my experience with USAA's customer service and management of a serious matter concerning my auto policy. I have had USAA insurance since I could drive and have had my own policy for over ten years now. I also have a loan through USAA. I'm deeply concerned about the way I've been treated and the unjust approach that has been taken towards this matter.

In October of 2016 my 2015 Honda Civic was flooded during a terrible storm. I contacted USAA and adjuster came out to inspect my car, it was deemed a total loss. I immediately went out shopping for new cars. Shortly after, USAA came and towed my car as they said they would do, plates and all. I bought my new car, a 2016 Honda civic, and while at the dealership I called USAA to take my totaled car off my policy and add my new car.

Fast forward to January 2019. I had been noticing for several months that my monthly payments had been higher but I attributed that to a ticket I had received. I called USAA in January to change my marital status and was asked if I still had both Honda Civics. To my horror and surprise, it turned out I had been paying on a policy for a car that had been deemed totaled by USAA itself for over 2 years. The totaled car was never taken off my policy and I thought, "how could this be possible?" USAA physically came and took my car from me.